Sunday, October 10, 2010

Kundalini Power

Simple Kundalini Pranayama is for the modern man who has no time for contemplation, meditation or the real McCoy, Kundalini Yoga. PrAna + Yama = Breathing Restraint = Breathing Regulation = Control of Breathing. The following is modified and based on the recommendation of Swami Sivananda. (Page xxiii, Kundalini Yoga.) Pranayama consists of Puraka, Kumbhaka and Rechaka: Inhalation, Retention and Exhalation of breath. Swami Sivananda says that positive attitude and dedication (Bhava) are more important than the time ratio of three components of Pranayama. Sit in Padma Asana pose looking East or North. Perform a short prayer in worship of your Guru or Ishta Devata (Personal God = God of your liking). Take a deep breath without snorting, hissing etc. As you inhale, imagine that Kundalini Devi is rising from Muladhara to Sahasrara Chakra through all the intermediary chakras. Retain your breath for five to ten seconds (Kumbhaka Phase). As you retain your breath mentally chant Pranava (OM) or your own chosen Mantra. Feel that you are suffused with LIGHT, POWER AND WISDOM during Kumbhaka phase. Next comes exhalation (Rechaka phase). Imagine that Kundalini is descending stepwise from Sahasrara, to Ajna, to Visuddha, to Anahata, to Manipura and finally to Muladhara Chakra. As you are exhaling imagine that you are exhaling all Tamasic qualities (sloth and slumber) out of your system.

Link :

No comments:

Post a Comment